Wang Research Group

Current Projects

The Cellular Response on DNA damage

There are two key enzymes – protein kinases ATM and ATR – that regulate the cellular response in case of DNA damage. ATM is primarily activated through DNA double-strand break (DSB), ATR trough DNA single-strand break or a blocking of the replication fork. As a damage-sensor, the protein complex MRN (MRE11/RAD50/NBS1) detects DSBs, initiates DNA repair and, hence, helps to keep the genome stable. With our research we aim at understanding the function of molecules involved in DDR.

One of these proteins is Nbs 1 (Nibrin), associated with the repair of DSBs. In cell cultures and mouse model organisms we investigate how Nbs1 interacts with enzyme ATR. Through non-invasive High Content Microscopy (hiMAC) we were able to show that a lack of Nbs1 does not necessarily lead to cell death (apoptosis), but instead induces a complex DDR. In contrast, a lack of ATR leads to apoptosis immediately. Currently, we are focusing on the impact of ATR and Nbs1 on the development of age-related diseases, including neuro(de)generation.

The Function of Poly(ADP-Ribosyl)ation

Poly(ADP-ribosyl)ation – called PARylation also – is the fasted reaction on DNA damage, especially on single-strand breaks and replication stress. Poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase 1 (PARP1) detects the DNA damage, binds to it and provokes the building of long polymer chains (PAR). PARylation and PARP1 activity play an important role in many cellular processes as well, e.g. in transcription, chromatin remodeling, proliferation, apoptosis or inflammation and aging processes. Little is known about how target proteins sense the PAR signal and regulate DDR. We work with animal models particularly bred to investigate the biological processes regulated by PAR homeostasis and PARylation.

Neurogenesis

For brain development, neural stem cells have to be strictly controlled. The modelling of chromatin (the material which chromosomes consist of) through epigenetic mechanisms is crucial for stem cell differentiation and the development of neurons (neurogenesis). For histone acetylation, the DNA strand is “unfastened” for transcription factors to bind and decipher genes. It’s histone acetyltransferases (HAT) that promote this process and are one of the key regulators of chromatin remodeling.

If we succeed to understand the epigenetic modeling of histone status, new therapies to improve the cognitive capabilities in the elderly could be developed. We work with the inducible elimination of co-factor Trrap in mouse models to investigate the epigenetic regulation of neurogenesis and neurodegeneration. Our results show the crucial role of Trrap and HAT for balancing the self-renewal and differentiation of neuro-stem cells. They regulate maintenance and functionality of post mitotic neurons to hinder neurodegenerative processes.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Zhao-Qi Wang

Zhao-Qi Wang
Group Leader
+49 3641 65-6415
zhao-qi.wang@leibniz-fli.de

Eileen Stöckl
Secretary
+49 3641 65-6815
eileen.stoeckl@leibniz-fli.de


Team

Name Phone Email Position
Zhao-Qi Wang +49 3641 656415 zhao-qi.wang@leibniz-fli.de Group Leader
Paulius Grigaravicius +49 3641 656419 paulius.grigaravicius@leibniz-fli.de Postdoc
Alicia Tapias Soler +49 3641 656078 alicia.tapias@leibniz-fli.de Postdoc
Zhongwei Zhou +49 3641 656420 zhongwei.zhou@leibniz-fli.de Postdoc
Murat Kirtay +49 3641 656736 murat.kirtay@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Student
David Lazaro Pellon +49 3641 656283 david.lazaro@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Student
Gabriela Pereira Carvalho Guerra +49 3641 656283 gabriela.guerra@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Student
Kanstantsin Siniuk +49 3641 656283 kanstantsin.siniuk@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Student
Christian Marx +49 3641 656078 christian.marx@leibniz-fli.de Scientist
Xiaoqian Liu +49 3641 656419 xiaoqian.liu@leibniz-fli.de Research Engineer
Tjard Jörß +49 3641 656283 tjard.joerss@leibniz-fli.de Technical Assistant
Doreen May +49 3641 656419 doreen.may@leibniz-fli.de Technical Assistant
Justin Martiny --- Master Student
Yunyi Zhang +49 3641 656283 yunyi.zhang@leibniz-fli.de Master Student