CF Imaging

The Imaging Facility provides the infrastructure to support state-of-the-art microscopy at the FLI. Currently, the Facility operates and maintains several widefield and confocal microscopes, a Lightsheet and a STED superresolution microscope.

The facility staff provides introduction into microscopy techniques and service for FLI researchers and, upon arrangement, also for external users.

The Facility is specialized in live cell microscopy to monitor molecule and cellular dynamics in space and time. Several fluorescence fluctuation microscopy (FFM) techniques with single-molecule resolution have been established including FRAP, FCS, FCCS, FLIM FRET, and RICS.

  • Equipment and techniques available:
  • LSM 710/ConfoCor 3 (FRET, FRAP, FCS, FCCS, RICS and time-lapse)
  • Spinning-Disc-Confocal (multi-fluorescence, rapid live-cell imaging)
  • Confocal Microscope C2 (live cell imaging)
  • LSM510-FLIM (Confocal microscopy, FLIM, FRET, FRAP, live-cell imaging)
  • LSM510-Optical Tweezer (Microbeam irradiation, optical tweezer)
  • IX70 Inverse (Widefield, brightfield, fluorescence microscopy of tissue sections)
  • CellR Imaging system (Advanced experimental setup, live-cell imaging, 2-color total internal reflection, FRAP)
  • Several Axiovert 200 ApoTomes; 2x inverse, 2x upright (optical sectioning with structured illumination, colocalization analysis, 2D, 3D, distance measurements, tiling of tissue sections)
  • VS110 Virtual microscope (Automated fluorescence imaging of tissue sections, 3D, tiling)
  • TCS SP8 STED-3X (Stimulated emission depletion super-resolution microscopy)
  • Lightsheet Z1 (live imaging of whole organisms in 3D over time)
Fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (FCS) allows to assess the diffusion and binding properties as well as molecule concentrations in living cells.
FLI: Confocal Detection Volume
Stimulated emission depletion (STED) microscopy resolves the distribution of two proteins in the nucleus down to 35 nm.
FLI: Stimulated Emission Depletion (STED)

Contact

Dr. Peter Hemmerich

Peter Hemmerich
CF Manager
+49 3641 65-6262
peter.hemmerich@leibniz-fli.de

Christoph Kaether
Scientific Supervisor
christoph.kaether@leibniz-fli.de

Group Website

FLI's Imaging Facility is part of the German BioImaging Network (GERBI).

  • Live-cell analyses of chromatin complex assembly
  • Superresolution imaging of supramolecular cellular complexes
  • Live-cell imaging of intracellular vesicle transport
  • Live-cell imaging of dendritic spines
  • Confocal imaging of mouse tissues and 3D reconstruction
  • Immunofluorescence localization of molecules in cultured cells and tissue samples

Internal users:
 Download (pdf)  User information on the Imaging Facility

External users:
Please inquire.

Team

Name Phone Email Position
Peter Hemmerich +49 3641 656262 peter.hemmerich@leibniz-fli.de Core Facility Manager
Christian Hoischen +49 3641 656305 christian.hoischen@leibniz-fli.de Staff Scientist
Shamci Monajembashi +49 3641 656409 shamci.monajembashi@leibniz-fli.de Staff Scientist
Birgit Perner +49 3641 656749/6493 birgit.perner@leibniz-fli.de Staff Scientist
Marianne Koch +49 3641 656168 marianne.koch@leibniz-fli.de Technical Assistant
Christoph Kaether +49 3641 656230 christoph.kaether@leibniz-fli.de Scientific Supervisor

For publications of individual CF members:  publications search