Ermolaeva Research Group

Current Projects

The group uses nematodes and human cells to study alterations of energy homeostasis and lipid turnover during aging. This is done by use of longevity tests, stress reporters and high throughput methods such as proteomics and lipidomics (performed in cooperation with the proteomic core facility at FLI and the lipid analysis department of the Friedrich Schiller University).  With these methods and additional cell culture and nematode tests, they study connections between metabolism, proteostasis and epigenetic alterations during aging.

The lab studies effects of natural stress factors such as environmental DNA damage, sleep deprivation and heavy metal exposure on systemic proteostasis, neuronal integrity, cognition and aging in nematodes.

The group performs genome wide CRISPR/Cas9 based genetic screens in human skin fibroblasts searching for gene changes, which protect against age-related molecular stresses (ER stress). 

The group is interested in the role of mitochondria and mitochondrial inhibitors in longevity assurance. Here they perform tests in nematodes at different stages of aging and in a human cell culture model of replicative senescence.

The lab uses longevity tests, proteomics and reporter analysis in nematodes to study effects of environmental bacteria and human-intrinsic microbiota on aging and homeostasis of metazoan hosts.

Contact

Dr. Maria Ermolaeva

Maria Ermolaeva
Group Leader
+49 3641 65-6805
maria.ermolaeva@leibniz-fli.de

Eileen Stöckl
Secretary
+49 3641 65-6815
eileen.stoeckl@leibniz-fli.de


Team (incomplete due to Data protection / unvollständig aufgrund DSGVO)

Name Phone Email Position
Maria Ermolaeva +49 3641 656805 maria.ermolaeva@leibniz-fli.de Group Leader
Lilia Pinela Soares Espada +49 3641 656863 lilia.espada@leibniz-fli.de Postdoc
Jose Miguel Chin Chan +49 3641 656863 miguel.chinchan@leibniz-fli.de Postdoc (external)
Prerana Shrikant Chaudhari +49 3641 656863 prerana.chaudhari@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Candidate
Oleksandr Dakhovnik +49 3641 656863 oleksandr.dakhovnik@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Candidate
Asya Martirosyan +49 3641 656863 asya.martirosyan@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Candidate
Tetiana Poliezhaieva +49 3641 656863 tetiana.poliezhaieva@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Candidate
Isabela Santos Valentim +49 3641 656868 isabela.valentim@leibniz-fli.de Doctoral Candidate
Yvonne Schaub +49 3641 656863 yvonne.schaub@leibniz-fli.de Technical Assistant
Marina Wollmann +49 3641 656105 marina.wollmann@leibniz-fli.de Technical Assistant
Suraj Shaji +49 3641 656863 suraj.shaji@leibniz-fli.de Master Student

* incomplete due to Data protection